Quick Tip about Bank/Credit Card Fees

I’m usually pretty on top of it when it comes to managing my accounts.  I pay my credit cards on time and I have a pretty accurate snapshot of how I stand financially in my head at any given time.  However, at times I slip up and one of these times happened a week ago.  I totally forgot to pay one of my credit card bills on time.  Today I take a look at my statement and see $60 worth of late fees.  Since this is my first time, I gave the credit card company a call.

CC Company Rep: Hello, thank you for calling [credit card company], how may I help you today?
Me:  Hi, I was calling in regards to the late fees I have on my account.  I have maintained my account well and this is the first incident I’ve had in the 3 years I’ve had this credit card.  Is it possible for me to get the late fees waived?
[after verifying my account…]
CC Company Rep: Let’s see.. I see you have a clean record with us so far.  I have gone ahead and credited your late fee and finance charge.  Is there anything else I can help you with?

After one easy 5 minute phone call, I have $60 back in my pocket.  I’ve done this before with another credit card and it was just as easy.  I’ve also waived other bank fees with my checking account.  In my experience, talking to your bank’s customer service never hurts and they are usually as accommodating as they can be to your situation.  It helps to have good credit and finances under control, but they’ll sometimes also help you in other ways like lowering your APR if you’re in a crunch.  It never hurts to ask!

Leave a Reply

